New App Notice!

About B.Sc. Study Ag in Nepal

1. Why to study B.Sc. Ag?
“An agriculturist is not a farmer. He is a good artist, scientist and a perfect business man. ”
Nepal is an agricultural prime country. Nearly 67% of the total population is engaged in this sector for their livelihood. In Nepal, the economy is dominated by agriculture. Obviously it is a major and common techno-economic activity in Nepal. According to the World Bank, agriculture is the main source of food, income and employment for the majority.

Nepal at present is relatively far behind in its human resources particularly in highly technical field like agriculture, forestry and veterinary science. High quality professionals are the need of the nation.

Agriculture, veterinary and forestry offer a large number of avenues of work and the demand for Agriculturists, Foresters and Veterinary doctors had increased tremendously. They can choose to work with the Government of Nepal, Animal Husbandry Departments, Agricultural Research Stations, Government Officers, Poultry Farms, Dairy Farms, Private and Government Plant Clinics, Wildlife sanctuaries and Zoological Parks. 

Detail Video About B.Sc. Ag Colleges in Nepal with their Location:-

Eligibility or Marks Requirement to Study Various Subjects

Eligibility for All Medical Field: Click Here

Eligibility for Ag, Vet, Forestry in AFU: Click Here

Eligibility for Ag, Horticulture, Veterinary in IAAS, TU: Click Here

Eligibility for BSc Forestry in IOF, TU: Click Here

Eligibility for BSc Food Technology, BSc Nutrition: Click Here

Prospects of Agriculture study?

1. Job Opportunities

  • Government Sectors: 
  • Ministry of Agriculture (MOA) 
  • Department of Agriculture (DOA) 
  • Nepal Agriculture Research Council (NARC) 
  • Planning Commission 
  • District Agriculture Development Office (DADO) and many more….. 
NGOs and INGOs:
  • LI-BIRD 
  • FAO 
  • JICA 
  • GTZ and many more….. 

2. About B.Sc. Ag In Nepal
The aim of Bachelor of Science in Agriculture program is to train academically competent and practical oriented professional agriculturists. The B. Sc. Agriculture program is an eight semester (four-year) course after +2. In the first three years most of the courses are from basic core agricultural disciplines. In the fourth year, elective courses are offered to provide the students an opportunity to acquire knowledge and skills in the areas of their interest. Field practical’s, project works and study visits are part of the academic curriculum. The students must fulfill four years of residential learning to complete the requirements of B. Sc. Ag. Curriculum.

Academic Year - Semester
Program Duration - 4 years

Eligibility Criteria for BSc. Ag

  • All +2 Science students with 1 year Bio and 1 year Math students can apply (Students must have studied Biology and Math for 1 Year in +2 Program) 
  • I.Sc. Ag student must have studied Math for 1 Year 
  • Minimum 50 Percentage, 
  • Minimum C Grade in all subjects with sum of both Theory and Practical (If you have lower grade than C in theory but you have C Grade in sum of Theory and Practical then you are able to fill form), 
  • Overall Aggregate must be C+ Grade, 
Want to Know details About AFU? Then watch this Video!

  • Minimum 50 Percentage,
  • Overall Aggregate must be C+ Grade.
III. Purbanchal University:
Students who have successfully completed intermediate of science programme (10+2 (Science), I.Sc., I.Sc.Ag. or equivalent grade) with second division are eligible to apply for this programme. In PU, there is a special provision for admission of in-service candidates in governmental or other institutional scholarship. However, such candidates also need to pass in the university entrance examination.

Currently, the Entrance Exam Pattern, Eligibility, and Total Seats in Various Colleges of AFU are changed. So Visit THIS LINK for the new details.

Also, Read our Other Post Related to Applied Science Courses Information.

Date of Entrance Exam
AFU – End of Kartik to First Week of Magh
TU – Poush
PU – Bhadra – Ashoj

Selection Procedure:-

A. Selection in AFU:
The final merit list of applicants will be prepared by adding 10% of the total marks obtained in the SLC examination and 10% of the total marks obtained in the +2 examination to 80% of the marks obtained in the entrance examination. An applicant must secure a minimum of 50% marks to pass the test. Names of candidates who pass the entrance test will appear in the result list in merit order, on the basis of which candidates are selected for admission.

B. Selection in TU:
Merit list will be based 100% on Marks obtained in the Entrance Exam. +2 Grades and SEE Grades will determine position in merit rank for Same marks in Entrance Exams.

C. Selection in PU:
Admission is based on the merit secured by the applicants in the entrance examination conducted by Purbanchal University .

Colleges offering BSc. Ag Course in Nepal
List of Colleges under AFU (All Constituent Campus)
1. Rampur Campus, Rampur 
2. Natural Resource and Management College, Puranchour, Kaski. 
3. College of Natural Resource Management, Pakhribas, Dhankuta
4. College of Natural Resource Management, Tikapur, Kailali
5. College of Natural Resource Management, Marin Kapilakot, Sindhuli
6. College of Natural Resource Management, Bardibas, Mahottari 

List of Colleges under TU
 1. Lamjung Campus, Sudarbazar, Lamjung (Constituent Campus)

2. Paklihawa Campus, Paklihawa (Constituent Campus) 
3. Rampur Campus, Khaireni, Chitwan (Constituent Campus)
4. Gauradaha Agriculture Campus, Gauradaha, Jhapa (Constituent Campus)

5. Gokuleshwore Campus, Baitadi (Affiliated Campus) 

Private Colleges
6. Campus of Life Sciences, Tulsipur, Dang (Affiliated Campus) 

7. Prithu Technical College, Lamahi, Dang (Affiliated Campus) 

8. Mahendra Ratna Multiple Campus, Ilam. (BSc. Horticulture, Autonomous Campus)
9. B.Sc. Tea Technology, Mechi Campus, Jhapa (BSc. Tea Technology, Affiliated Campus )

List of Colleges under Purbanchal University

1. Himalaya College of Agriculture Sciences and Technology (HICAST), Kirtipur
2. Nepal Polytechnic Institute (NPI), Chitwan
3. G.P Koirala College of Agriculture and Research Centre.
Previous Post Next Post